Last updated
Maintained by CeriFi CPEdge from the same rule data our compliance engine uses — how we maintain this →
How to reach the regulator directly.
Maryland Board of Public Accountancy
500 N. Calvert Street, Third Floor
Baltimore, MD 21202-3651
Tel: (410) 230-6258
Fax: (410) 333-6314
Email: DLOPLPublicAccountancy-DLLR@maryland.gov
The regulator's own published rules and related resources.
The total continuing education hours required.
80 hours.
Updated March 30, 2015: An applicant for license renewal shall complete, prior to submitting an application, a minimum of 80 credit hours of qualifying continuing education in each 2-year license term.
The detailed rules behind that total -- category minimums, ethics, and other conditions.
Professional Ethics.
Effective October 1, 2006 (updated March 30, 2015): A minimum of 4 credit hours of the continuing education for each 2-year license term shall be in professional ethics.
Pertinent Fields of Study.
Professional ethics is the only specific subject requirement for CPE. The Board accepts CPE courses in 23 subject fields of study. These fields of study include:
Please note: If a component in the above listed fields of study includes regulatory or behavioral ethics subject matter, the hour equivalent that reflects the percentage of time devoted to ethical subject matter must be documented on the sponsoring organization's attendance report or certificate of completion. The Board will not recognize as ethics CPE hours claimed if supporting documentation is not noted on attendance forms or course completion certificates.
These fields represent the primary knowledge and skill areas needed by accounting licensees to perform professional services in all fields of employment. For a more specific listing of MD Board approved areas of study, refer to the NASBA Registry of Acceptable CPE. If a licensee seeks credit for a CPE Program not reasonably matching the subject matter areas listed in CPE Fields of Study as published by the NASBA Registry of Acceptable CPE, the Board may require the participant to provide evidence that demonstrates how the program in question satisfies the CPE requirements.
Don't see what you need? Browse the full course catalog
How the reporting cycle is structured.
Biennial.
When a reporting cycle begins.
Licenses are issued for a fixed two-year period that is based on the date of your initial licensure.
How completed credits are reported to the regulator.
Reporting CPE.
Licensees are required to report on the renewal application the number of CPE hours they have earned. They are asked to indicate the exact number of CPE hours that they have completed during their current two-year license period. Licensees can report CPE that they have earned in the two years prior to the expiration date of their current license. For example, a licensee whose license period is January 2, 2009 and expires January 2, 2011, can report any CPE earned between those two dates to qualify for renewal for the next two-year period through January 2, 2013.
Recent licensees who are renewing their licenses for the first time do not have to report any CPE in order to qualify for their initial license renewal. If, however, the licensee has earned CPE during the first license period, the licensee may report it on the first renewal and it will be carried forward for use with the next immediate renewal. CPE earned in an individual's first license period that is not reported at the time of the first renewal is no longer valid and is ineligible to be reported as CPE earned at the time of the second renewal. All licensees must report at least 80 hours of qualifying CPE at the time of their second renewal.
Documentation.
Effective March 30, 2015: An individual who reports participation in a qualifying group continuing education program to satisfy the continuing education requirements of this chapter shall provide, upon the Board’s request, the following documentation:
Effective March 30, 2015: An individual who reports services as a teacher, lecturer, or discussion leader to satisfy the continuing education requirements of this chapter shall provide, upon the Board's request, the following documentation:
Effective March 30, 2015: An individual who reports completion of a university or college course to satisfy the continuing education requirements of this chapter shall provide, upon the Board’s request, an official transcript that includes the course.
Effective March 30, 2015: An individual who reports participation in a program other than a group continuing education program to satisfy the continuing education requirements of this chapter shall provide, upon the Board’s request, the following documentation:
Effective March 30, 2015: An individual who reports participation in a peer review to satisfy the continuing education requirements of this chapter shall provide, upon the Board’s request, a written certification signed and dated by the peer reviewer indicating the following:
Effective March 30, 2015: An individual who reports authoring or contributing to a continuing education publication to satisfy the continuing education requirements of this chapter shall provide, upon the Board’s request, the following documentation:
Controls and Reporting.
Updated March 30, 2015: Applicants for license renewal or reinstatement shall provide a certification of compliance with the license requirements, under Business Occupations and Professions Article, §§2-311 and 2-312, Annotated Code of Maryland, under penalty of perjury, in an appropriate form specified by the Board.
Updated March 30, 2014: An applicant for license renewal or reinstatement who reports continuing education credit hours to the Board shall retain the applicable documentation of the credit hours, as specified in this chapter, for a period of 4 years from the application date.
Modification of Continuing Professional Education Credit Hours.
Effective April 28, 2014: An applicant for license renewal or reinstatement may request a modification of continuing professional education credit hours previously reported to the Board provided that the applicant:
The renewal or reporting deadline.
Licenses expire on a fixed two-year period that is based upon the date of your initial licensure.
At least 1 month before a license expires, the Board shall mail to the licensee, at the last known address of the licensee, a renewal application form.
What happens if the requirement is not met.
Updated March 30, 2015: The Board, at its discretion, may verify the information and documentation supporting the certification of continuing education credit hours reported. Upon request, the individual who reported the continuing education credit hours shall submit to the Board, or its designee, copies of the original documentation.
Reduced or prorated requirements for a first renewal.
A continuing education requirement does not apply to the first renewal of a license.
If, however, the licensee has earned CPE during the first license period, the licensee may report it on the first renewal and it will be carried forward for use with the next immediate renewal.
Rules for professionals licensed elsewhere.
Not specified.
Who may be excused from all or part of this requirement.
The Board may issue a license to any applicant who has not fully complied with the continuing education requirements in cases when failure by the applicant to fulfill this requirement has been caused by reason of any of the following:
Inactive Status.
The Board shall place a licensee on inactive status and issue an inactive status certificate to the licensee, if the licensee:
The [CPE] requirement does not apply to those licensees who have been placed on inactive status.
Reinstatement.
In accordance with its regulations, the Board may reinstate the license of an individual who has failed to renew the license for any reason if the individual:
Effective March 30, 2015: An applicant for reinstatement may only report continuing education hours earned within 2 years of the application date.
Whether unused credits can apply to the next period.
Carryover Credit.
Updated March 30, 2015: Qualifying credit hours reported in a license renewal application in excess of the 80 credit hour requirement of this regulation may only be carried forward to apply to the following 2-year license term.
Updated March 30, 2015: Except as noted below, qualifying credit hours in excess of the 80 credit hours required for a 2-year license term, up to a maximum of 80 credit hours, may be carried forward to apply to the following 2-year license term.
Prior to March 30, 2015: For professional ethics, there is no carry forward provision for excess hours.
Prior to May 18, 2009: Credit for noninteractive self-study programs, there is no carry-over provision for excess hours.
Prior to May 18, 2009: Credit for a combination of interactive self-study and noninteractive self-study programs, there is no carry-over provision for excess hours.
Prior to May 18, 2009: For professional ethics, the intent of the Board's Ethics CPE requirement was that individuals would have to take ethics CPE each two year period.
Rule changes the regulator has finalized, with effective dates.
Refer to the specific sections above for more details on any of the items noted below.
Effective March 30, 2015: The MD Board revised CPE regulations to include the time period in which the continuing education must be earned, to clarify that excess credit hours in ethics can be used to meet the general continuing education requirements, and to limit the use of excess credit hours reported in a license renewal application to the next license renewal application; set forth the types of qualifying continuing education programs and the necessary documentation of attendance or completion; and establish the method for calculating credit hours of continuing education and set the minimum period of instruction necessary for receiving continuing education credit. Highlights include:
Refer to the paragraphs above that are prefaced with March 30, 2015. "Effective" indicates new rule; "Updated" indicates revised/clarified language.
Reporting Method:
Effective April 28, 2014: Time period for amending CPE reported in license renewal application.
Licensees who wish to amend the CPE reported in their license renewal application will have 30 days from the date the application was submitted to do so. Requests to amend the number of CPEs reported must be submitted in writing to the Board. A request for modification must include documentation of the completion of the number of CPE hours claimed in the initial application as well as any additional hours of CPE.
Credit for Teaching and Repeat Credit:
Effective May 17, 2010: Hours allowable in the capacity of teacher, lecturer, or discussion leader may not exceed 45 hours of the minimum requirements with no carry-over provision for excess hours. Additionally, teachers or lecturers at an accredited college or university may receive three credits for every one credit they teach the first time they teach the qualifying course.
Carry-Over Credit:
Effective May 18, 2009: For professional ethics, there is no carry forward provision for excess hours.
General Characteristics of Accredited Education:
Effective May 18, 2009: A program other than a group program will qualify only if:
Credit for Teaching and Repeat Credit:
Effective May 18, 2009: Repetitious presentation, that is, those that are substantially the same subject material, may be included only once in each reporting cycle.
Effective May 18, 2009: A teacher, lecturer, or discussion leader of a qualifying continuing education program shall receive:
Credit for Self-Study Education:
Effective May 18, 2009: Self-study is no longer referenced in the regulations as interactive and/or noninteractive. Self-study now falls under the category of "program other than a group program" in the regulations.
Effective May 18, 2009: All hours in excess of the 80-hours required for a license term can be carried forward to apply as credit to the 80-hour requirements of the following 2 years.
Effective May 18, 2009: A program other than a group program will qualify only if:
Credit for Self-Study Education:
Effective September 4, 2008: There will no longer be a difference in the calculation of credit hours based on whether the course is considered interactive or non-interactive.
Other Special Rules:
Effective January 1, 2008: A peer review shall qualify for CPE credit if conducted in accordance with Business Occupations and Professions Article, Title 2, Subtitle 4A, Annotated Code of Maryland, and COMAR 09.24.06.
Effective January 1, 2008: Calculation of Credit for Peer Reviews.
Breakdown of Specific Requirements:
Effective October 1, 2006: A minimum of four (4) hours of the continuing education for each 2-year license term shall be in professional ethics.
Prepared and maintained by CeriFi CPEdge, which has tracked CPE rules for over 20 years, covering 76 accountancy regulators — all 50 state boards of accountancy, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and Guam, plus national bodies and professional designations including NASBA, PCAOB, Yellow Book, CFP, IRS Enrolled Agents and CTEC.
Each regulator is tracked across 44 distinct rule areas — credit categories, compliance periods, format limits, carryover, new-licensee provisions, reporting method and provider-approval requirements. When a board changes its rules the rule set is updated, and where the published wording is ambiguous CeriFi confirms the interpretation with the board directly. The Approved Rule Changes section records the dated history for Maryland.
Always verify against the regulator’s own published rules — see official links above.
CPEdge applies Maryland’s compliance period, credit categories, carryover and new-licensee provisions to your activity history automatically, and tells you what is still outstanding — across every jurisdiction you are licensed in at once.
Already included in all three CPE packages: Professional · Premier · Premier Plus — compare packages
Need courses too? Browse the catalog to find CPE that satisfies these requirements.
This rule summary was prepared solely by CeriFi and is not endorsed, reviewed, or approved by your State Board of Accountancy. While CeriFi takes great strides to accurately convey the CPE rules and requirements in a readily accessible and easy-to-understand format, this summary does not in any way represent or replace the official rules of the regulating authority. Thus, these summaries are not to be relied upon as a substitute for the official rules and regulations of the regulating authority. CeriFi does not warrant the accuracy of this rule summary and CeriFi may not be held liable for any damages as a result of any reliance upon it.