Last updated
Maintained by CeriFi CPEdge from the same rule data our compliance engine uses — how we maintain this →
How to reach the regulator directly.
Puerto Rico Board of Accountancy
Physical Address:
Administración de Terrenos Building
Chardón Ave. #171 3er Floor
San Juan, PR 00918-0903
Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 9023271
San Juan, PR 00902-3271
Tel: (787) 722-4816
Fax: (787) 722-4818
Email: lbarreto@nasba.org
The regulator's own published rules and related resources.
The total continuing education hours required.
Public / Practicing CPA: 120 credit hours.
Non-Public / Non-Practicing CPA: 90 credit hours.
The detailed rules behind that total -- category minimums, ethics, and other conditions.
Public / Practicing CPAs:
In the case of public / practicing CPAs, at least forty (40) of the one hundred twenty (120) credit hours of continuing education required must be accumulated in topics of accounting, auditing and tax (technical subjects).
Ethics: Three (3) credit hours in subjects related to professional ethics of CPAs. The content of these courses should be based in the Code of Professional Conduct of the AICPA and the courses must be provided by sponsors registered in accordance with Article 6 of this Regulation (refer to "Acceptable Providers" below).
The remaining credit hours to complete the requirement of 120 hours can be taken in finance, management, economics, commercial law, labor law, quantitative methods, statistics, information systems, practice management, communication, behavioral sciences, public relations, and sales of securities.
Non-Public / Non-Practicing CPAs
Thirty (30) credit hours must be taken on matters directly related to the industry in which the CPA performs and / or the position occupy.
Ethics: Three (3) credit hours in subjects related to professional ethics of CPAs. The content of these courses should be based in the Code of Professional Conduct of the AICPA and the courses must be provided by sponsors registered in accordance with Article 6 of this Regulation (refer to "Acceptable Providers" below).
The remaining credit hours must be related to the field of business administration, accounting, auditing, taxes or economic activity.
Don't see what you need? Browse the full course catalog
How the reporting cycle is structured.
Triennial.
When a reporting cycle begins.
August 1.
How completed credits are reported to the regulator.
The participants in group programs or self-study must submit the following documentation for the courses which they claim for credit hours of continuing education:
The renewal or reporting deadline.
July 31.
Please Note: The license renewal period is August 1 – December 1 (every three years). If an application is past the December 1 deadline, CPE can only be counted from the date the application was received and back three years (i.e., If the Renewal Date is 12/1/2011, and the application was received 2/2/2012, then the acceptable CPE is from 2/2/2009 to 2/2/2012).
CPE Extensions may be requested from the Board. The last date to request extensions is December 1 of the year the license expires and must be accompanied by documentation that supports it.
What happens if the requirement is not met.
The CPA that does not complete the required continuing education established by the Law of Accountancy or this regulation is not permitted to renew their license to practice public accountancy.
The Board can, when it deems it convenient, audit the information about continuing education claimed during the past 5 years from the date that said credit hours were reported to the Board; but the CPA must submit said evidence only if the Board requires them to.
The falsification, fraud, or misdirection in the information or documents submitted relative to continuing education or if it was not completed according to the conditions of this regulation, there will be an object of action against the CPA on the part of the Board authorized by Section 8 of the Law of Public Accountancy of 1945, by amendment.
Reduced or prorated requirements for a first renewal.
A new CPA will begin to accumulate credit hours of continuing education from the period which begins on the 1st of August in the year they were licensed in.
Rules for professionals licensed elsewhere.
Not specified.
Who may be excused from all or part of this requirement.
The Board is able to modify or consider certain exceptions to the requirements of mandatory continuing education in the following cases:
CPE Extensions may be requested from the Board. The last date to request extensions is December 1 of the year the license expires and must be accompanied by documentation that supports it.
Whether unused credits can apply to the next period.
Not specified.
Rule changes the regulator has finalized, with effective dates.
Refer to the specific sections above for more details on any of the items noted below.
Breakdown of Specific Requirements:
In the case of public CPAs, at least forty (40) of the one hundred twenty (120) credit hours of continuing education required must be accumulated in topics of accounting, auditing and tax (technical subjects).
Prepared and maintained by CeriFi CPEdge, which has tracked CPE rules for over 20 years, covering 76 accountancy regulators — all 50 state boards of accountancy, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and Guam, plus national bodies and professional designations including NASBA, PCAOB, Yellow Book, CFP, IRS Enrolled Agents and CTEC.
Each regulator is tracked across 44 distinct rule areas — credit categories, compliance periods, format limits, carryover, new-licensee provisions, reporting method and provider-approval requirements. When a board changes its rules the rule set is updated, and where the published wording is ambiguous CeriFi confirms the interpretation with the board directly. The Approved Rule Changes section records the dated history for Puerto Rico.
Always verify against the regulator’s own published rules — see official links above.
CPEdge applies Puerto Rico’s compliance period, credit categories, carryover and new-licensee provisions to your activity history automatically, and tells you what is still outstanding — across every jurisdiction you are licensed in at once.
Already included in all three CPE packages: Professional · Premier · Premier Plus — compare packages
Need courses too? Browse the catalog to find CPE that satisfies these requirements.
This rule summary was prepared solely by CeriFi and is not endorsed, reviewed, or approved by your State Board of Accountancy. While CeriFi takes great strides to accurately convey the CPE rules and requirements in a readily accessible and easy-to-understand format, this summary does not in any way represent or replace the official rules of the regulating authority. Thus, these summaries are not to be relied upon as a substitute for the official rules and regulations of the regulating authority. CeriFi does not warrant the accuracy of this rule summary and CeriFi may not be held liable for any damages as a result of any reliance upon it.